Cooch Behar heritage GPO, W. Bengal

GPO, Cooch Behar, West Bengal.

GPO Cooch Bihar

Map of Cooch Bihar.

Cooch Behar, the district headquarters of  Cooch Behar District in the Indian state of West Bengal is in the picturesque foothills of the  Eastern Himalayas. It is an excellent tourist destination as one could see many vestiges of royal heritage here. The Cooch Behar Palace, Baneswar Shiva temple and Madan Mohan Temple  draw lots of tourists from other states. Additional attraction is, it is a fairly well planned city  in North Bengal region and hence it is declared as a  heritage town. This place happens to be  the maternal home of Maharani Gayatri Devi of Jaipur.

Raja Sir. Nripendra Narayan,

In the colonial days it was an important princely state of Koch Bihar  ruled by the Koch dynasty; the royal members trace their origin  to the  Koch tribe of North-eastern India.  It was only after  20 August 1949, Cooch Behar District  ceased to be part of the princely state
 with the city of Cooch Behar (Koch Behar) as its headquarters.  The name Cooch Behar is derived from the name of the Koch or Rajbongshi tribes The word behar is derived from Sanskrit word  vihara.

Cooch Behar HPO is declared as a heritage building by the Central Government. The Post & Telegraph Office of Cooch Behar State  became operational in 1875 under the administrative control of Rangpur Postal Division. During the colonial days, the British Crown, London  was the main administrator. The Cooch Behar Post Office, in the early days, functioned in the building located in the Purana Post Office Para. Today, the plot  covers 8893 sq. ft.  and the credit goes to Maharaja Nriprendra Narayan  who magnanimously came forward to build the present Head Post Office building as it was beneficial to the people living in the far-off  eastern part of the subcontinent. During his reign, there were five Post Offices  and one telegraph office  in the entire Cooch Behar State. With the bifurcation of Rangpur Division - April 16, 1979, Jalpaiguri Division was first created, followed by  the creation of Cooch Behar Division.